Phase two of the West Metro project involves the construction of seven kilometres of rail line and five new stations: Finnoo, Kaitaa, Soukka, Espoonlahti and Kivenlahti. In addition, an underground metro depot is being built in Sammalvuori. The metro will travel entirely underground also in phase two, in two parallel tunnels. The metro will start operating from Matinkylä to Kivenlahti in Espoo on Saturday 3 December.

In phase one of the West Metro project, commuter traffic from Ruoholahti to Matinkylä began on 18 November 2017. Länsimetro Oy handed over the stations and rail line to HKL on 3 October 2017. Eight stations and the rail line, including the technical systems for these, remain under the ownership of Länsimetro Oy. HKL reports to Länsimetro Oy on the use of the rail line and stations and related service and maintenance tasks as agreed.