About us

Länsimetro Oy as the owner and developer of the metro system

Länsimetro Oy is a limited liability company that is jointly owned by the cities of Espoo and Helsinki. Länsimetro Oy’s task is to build, own, maintain and develop the West Metro system, tracks and stations from Ruoholahti westwards. The transport operator and developer of the rail section and stations from Ruoholahti eastward is Metropolitan Area Transport Ltd (formerly Helsinki City Transport, HKL).

As the metro system and infrastructure owner, Länsimetro Oy’s task is to ensure that the West Metro’s metro system and its stations provide a safe commuting environment throughout their lifecycle.

Phase one of West Metro, from Ruoholahti to Matinkylä, was completed in October 2017. The metro operator launched metro service on the 14-kilometre rail section on 18 November 2017.

Responsibility for managing and maintaining the West Metro stations and rail line has been agreed on in a co-operation agreement between Länsimetro Oy, Metropolitan Area Transport Ltd and Helsinki City Transport (HKL). Metropolitan Area Transport Ltd provides most of the maintenance services, is responsible for servicing and maintaining Länsimetro Oy’s metro stations and rail line, and also reports on these activities to Länsimetro Oy. HKL provides some of the services in the co-operation agreement. The joint local authority HSL, which plans and procures transport services, is responsible for the public transport timetables.

Länsimetro Oy as a developer of rail infrastructure and metro stations

Länsimetro Oy has been responsible for the overall construction in accordance with the project plan, first from Ruoholahti to Matinkylä, and is responsible for the second phase of construction, from Matinkylä to Kivenlahti.

The second phase of the West Metro project, Matinkylä–Kivenlahti, involves the construction of seven kilometres of rail line and five new stations, and the construction of an underground metro depot in Sammalvuori. The rail line, stations, depot and metro system that are part of the second phase will also remain under Länsimetro Oy’s ownership. When the project is completed, Länsimetro Oy will be responsible for approximately 2.5 billion euros worth of infrastructure assets.

The West Metro project is responsible for ensuring that the rail section, stations and depot are completed on schedule and remain within the cost estimate. Every station and rail line has been assigned its own project management contractor. The Sammalvuori depot is being built by a consortium. An integrated project organisation that binds all parties has been established for the project; it operates in Matinkylä, Espoo, under the ‘big room’ principle.